Press K

Season 5 Finally Let’s Us Return the The Burning Hells

Face the Fell Council in an All New Endgame Mode, the Infernal Hordes

Season 5 Finally Let’s Us Return the The Burning Hells

The Infernal Hordes is an activity where you slay hordes while earning Burning Aether to unlock powerful weapons and rewards. Successfully slay the Hordes and you’ll be able to fight the powerful Fell Council.

The Infernal Hordes can be tested in the Season 5 PTR starting next Tuesday!

The Infernal Hordes

  • Infernal Hordes is a set of time-limited waves, lasting 90 seconds each.
  • Collect Burning Aether during a wave to spend at the end of a successful Infernal run.
  • At the end of the 90 seconds, kill the remaining enemies and decide between three Infernal Offers. Once selected, the next wave will begin.
  • Successfully slay all waves in the Tier you are attempting to advance to the Well of Hatred then battle the Fell Council. Upon defeating the Fell Council, spend your Burning Aether on Spoils of Hell.

Wave Modifiers

Upon defeating each wave, Hell will tempt you with an Infernal Offer.

Infernal Offer
Infernal Offer
  • The Infernal Offer gives you a choice of 3 different Boons & Banes that modify your run. Select one!
  • Infernal Offers will stack across the duration of your Infernal Hordes run. Many can be active at the same time!
  • Infernal Offers are your chance to increase the difficulty in order to earn more Burning Aether, or select a more modest Infernal Offer if the intensity is too great.

Some examples:

At the end of each wave, spawn 1-3 AetherHellfire rains upon you
Soulspires pull foes inwardsSoulspires empower nearby foes
Aether Fiends grant +1 AetherElite damage +25%

Burning Aether

33 Burning Aether
33 Burning Aether
  • Earn Burning Aether by slaying Aether Fiends and Aether Lords, or by destroying Soulspires and Aetheric Masses.
  • Burning Aether is earned individually, regardless of playing solo or in a group. This lets you decide how to spend it at the end of your run.

The Fell Council Boss Fight

There are 5 Fell Council Members in total, each equipped with different unique abilities. Every time you face the Fell Council, there will be 3 different members to fight you – each three will be selected to fight you at random. Be wary of their unique abilities in the various combinations you’ll encounter them.

The Fell Council
The Fell Council

Once you inflict enough damage on the Fell Council, the Priests will become more frenzied in their attacks

The 5 members of the council are:

  • Geleb the Flame
  • Bremm the Maelstrom
  • Wyand the Shadow
  • Maffer the Cruel
  • Ismael the Accursed


Originally meant to protect us from the Prime Evil Mephisto during the events in Diablo II, these noble priests were corrupted and became Champions of the very demon they swore to oppose.

Interesting to note, in Diablo II, there where 6 Council Members in Travincal, the one missing here is Toorc Icefist. There was also a 7th Council Member in the expansion, Lord of Destruction, where Bartuc the Bloody was one of Baal's Minions.

Upon defeating the Fell Council, you can spend your Burning Aether on the Spoils of Hell.


On a successful run, you’ll use Burning Aether to unlock Spoils of Hell. There will be 4 different Spoils of Hell available on completing your Infernal Hordes run.

Spoils of Hell
Spoils of Hell
  • Spoils of Equipment
  • Spoils of Materials
  • Spoils of Gold
  • Spoils of Greater Equipment
    • This Spoil of Hell guarantees an item with a Greater AffixSpoil of Greater Equipment!
The Infernal Hordes Compass
The Infernal Hordes Compass

How to Play

The Infernal Hordes can be started by using an Infernal Compass. Infernal Compasses can be found by defeating Endgame Bosses, Helltides, Nightmare Dungeons, and Whispers.

An Infernal Compass will be granted to you upon completing the newest Eternal quest.

There are 8 Tiers of Infernal Compasses, which scale in difficulty and World Tier.

Each Infernal Compass Tier increases the number of waves starting at five for Tiers 1-3, increasing until a maximum of 10 waves with a Tier 8 Infernal Compass. It also increases the starting difficulty of Monsters, and increases the potency of your rewards while decreasing your number of revives.

Compass Tier# of Waves

Infernal Compasses can be used at the following levels and World Tiers:

  • Tier I
    • Available at NightmareNightmare
  • Tier II
    • Available at TormentTorment
    • Includes Bonus Affixes which increase crafting materials, and Legendary and Unique Drop rates!
  • Tier III
    • Available at Level 100
    • Includes Bonus Affixes
    • Includes Greater AffixSpoil of Greater Equipment
Abyssal Scroll
Abyssal Scroll

Abyssal Scrolls

Abyssal Scrolls can be earned and used to upgrade your Infernal Compass by upgrading their Tier. Infernal Compasses will only drop at Tiers 1-3; Abyssal Scrolls will be needed to increase their level to a Max of Tier 8.